Tag: Databases

Westlaw & LexisLibrary database training sessions

We’ve arranged for external trainers from the Westlaw and LexisLibrary databases to deliver weekday training sessions at Guildford.

  LexisLibrary

Thursday 22 and Friday 23 October

 Westlaw

Monday 2 and Tuesday 3 November

Go to ELITE> Student Hub> Events, Activities & Sign-ups to find the full list of dates and times of the sessions, all of which will take place in LRC IT Room 217. To add your name, select a session and click on Sign up.

These sessions are popular and get filled very quickly, so you’ll need to sign up as soon as possible to guarantee your place.

Introducing your LexisLibrary student rep

Posted on behalf of Emem Aylett:

lexisnexisnew

 

Hello everyone,

My name is Emem Aylett. I am your Lexis-Rep at the University of Law Guildford.

I am sure you have all heard of LexisLibrary and you know the purpose but I will briefly reintroduce it to you. LexisLibrary is an online legal-research database that helps professionals and students search for reliable legal materials.

It ensures that your work is current because materials are updated frequently. For example cases are updated daily. You can even set a case-tracker to notify you of new developments- this very useful for dissertation and research reports.

LexisLibrary is used by majority of law firms, universities and judges in the UK so getting the LexisLibrary certification looks good on your CV. LexisLibrary is an evolving tool; these days you can download ‘lexis-check’ to check your citations and download apps to your iPhones.

I will be running weekly clinics in IT Room 217 on Mondays @ 12:05-13:05 and Thursdays @ 16:05-17:05. If you have any concerns about LexisLibrary or even other stuff, do not hesitate to contact me (emem.aylett10@law.ac.uk). I would love to hear from you and I am paid to help!

Please like and join the LexisLibrary University of Law Guildford Facebook page and keep up-to-date with training sessions, competitions and table day information.

https://www.facebook.com/lexisnexisguildford#!/lexisnexisguildford

Use this early stage in the course to practise navigating your way around LexisLibrary and get certified!

 

Ø LexisLibrary Certification:

It is really simple to do, just click on the below link, register and then select ‘basic’ or ‘advanced’ and take the test. When you pass, you will be sent an e-mail with a link which will go to your certificate which you can then print off. You can take the test at any time and can sit it as many times as you like until you pass. If you complete the ‘basic’ or have done in the past, you can go straight on to the ‘advanced’ test. I think that is all your questions answered but if you have any more please let me know.
This is the link: http://www.lexisnexis.com/uk/lawschool/certification/

 

Ø Download LexisCheck for citation:

LexisCheck will find every case and legislation citation on your reading list. At the click of a single button in your Word…or IE toolbar, it will automatically provide you with a link to exactly that case or section of an Act in LexisLibrary. http://www.lexischecklife.co.uk/

 

*** For iPhone users only (unfortunately) ***

Ø Halsbury’s™ Legal Terms:

Covering a wide range of legal topics, you can find the meaning of a legal term, the legislation where that term was defined and read the key cases about that definition. You can also find links to related terms.https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/halsburys-legal-terms/id489935627?mt=8

Ø LexisLibrary On The Case:

Review cases instantly by reading the Case Brief – an overview of the issues, rules, and reasoning, written by LexisNexis legal experts.https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/lexis-library-on-the-case/id489937537?mt=8

Practical Law Company database training session on 3rd May

Improve your online research skills by attending a practical demonstration, from external trainer Amit Alagh, on using the PLC database.

The Practical Law Company is a leading legal know-how provider, used by over 80% of theUK’s 500 largest law firms. It doesn’t just offer another way to access legislation, case law and practitioners’ journals. Instead it is a source of information that is repackaged in plain English, to make it easier to understand and learn the law. It’s a reliable place to start research, especially if you’re unsure where to look, and a great way to increase your commercial awareness before those all-important interviews!

We’ve arranged for Amit to run a one-hour lunchtime session on Thursday 3rd May, in IT Room 216 (this session has been rescheduled from an earlier session which we had to cancel at the last minute due to illness.)

To sign  up, go to ELITE>MY Centre>What’s on in Guildford>PLC database training, and click on ‘Sign-up’ to add your name.

Practical Law Company database training sessions

Improve your online research skills by attending a practical demonstration, from external trainer Amit Alagh, on using the PLC database.

The Practical Law Company is a leading legal know-how provider, used by over 80% of the UK’s 500 largest law firms. It doesn’t just offer another way to access legislation, case law and practitioners’ journals. Instead it is a source of information that is repackaged in plain English, to make it easier to understand and learn the law. It’s a reliable place to start research, especially if you’re unsure where to look, and a great way to increase your commercial awareness before those all-important interviews!

We’ve arranged for Amit to run a one-hour lunchtime session on Tuesday 20th and again on Thursday 22nd March, in IT Room 216.  To sign  up for either session, go to ELITE>MY Centre>What’s on in Guildford>PLC database training sessions, and click on ‘Sign-up’ to add your name to the session of your choice.

Westlaw & Lawtel database training sessions in January

We have arranged for the external Westlaw trainer to run some additional Westlaw & Lawtel database training sessions, on the following dates:

Tuesday 17th January  9.45 – 11.15am (Westlaw training certification session)

Tuesday 17th January  1.00 – 2.30pm (Westlaw training certification session) Session cancelled due to insufficient numbers signed-up.

Wednesday 25th January  12.00 – 1.00pm (Basic Westlaw training session)

Wednesday 25th January  1.00 – 2.00pm (Basic Westlaw training session)

Friday 27th January  11.00am – 12.30pm (Lawtel training certification session)

All sessions will be held in IT Room 216. 

Please take this opportunity to attend, whether you need help with navigating these databases or would like to update your online research skills.  Attending the certification sessions, which give you a basic one-hour training session followed by the (optional) taking of an online test to gain a certificate of competency in database research, would also be a very useful addition to your CV!  In each session, however, the trainer will demonstrate how to access online sources of help with using the databases, including how to register for Westlaw Workouts and Lawtel Lessons online training sessions.

To sign up, go to Elite>My Centre>What’s on in Guildford>Westlaw or Lawtel database training sessions, and click on ‘Sign-up’ to add your name to the session of your choice.  If insufficient numbers of students sign-up, the sessions may unfortunately have to be cancelled.

Database training sessions for F/T LPC

Don’t forget to sign up for the Westlaw, LexisLibrary and Lawtel database training sessions and the JustCite legal search engine training session, which have been arranged for  F/T LPC students for this term.

On Friday 9th September there are 2 Westlaw sessions, at 10.15 – 11.15am & 12.15 – 1.15pm as well as a Lawtel session at 2 – 3pm.

On Tuesday 20th September there is a JustCite session at 12.15 – 1.15pm.

On Thursday 22nd & Friday 23rd September there are LexisLibrary sessions, at 12.15 – 1.15 on both dates.

They will all be held in IT Room 216.  These sessions give you the chance to learn from expert trainers, who will be able to inform you about all the latest developments, help you find your way round the databases and give you invaluable advice about constructing searches to achieve the best results, as well as show you how to take their online certification tests.   Please don’t miss out!  Due to limitations on availability of the trainers, it is unlikely that we will be able to arrange any sessions for F/T LPC students on alternative dates this term, although all the trainers have agreed to come again in the spring term.

You can sign up online by going to ELITE > My Centre>What’s on in Guildford>News and Events page and clicking the ‘Database training’ headings – this will take you to the list of sessions on offer & you simply need to click on ‘Sign up’ to add your name to the session(s) of your choice.

More Westlaw & Lawtel training certification sessions

As there was a lot of demand for the Westlaw & Lawtel training certification sessions which are running on Friday 30th April and several of you were unable to book a place, we have managed to arrange for an extra Westlaw session to be held on Tuesday, 11th May, 10.30am – 12.30pm, in Room 216.  To book your place, go to ELITE>My Centre>What’s on in Guildford>Library database training certification sessions and click ‘Sign-up’ to add your name.

To gain valuable training and certification in Lawtel – and a chance to win £100 of vouchers! – why not click on the following link :-

Lawtel lessons

to find out about the series of online lessons which Lawtel offer (covering Lawtel Basics, Personal Injury, Kemp Personal Injury/ Schedule of Damages and the EU) and how to access and register for them. Being able to demonstrate that you have good Lawtel research skills will give you an advantage when applying for training contracts!

Important new feature on LexisLibrary

LexisLibrary has introduced a useful new source called ‘UK Legislation Status Snapshots’, which amalgamates the commencement information in ‘Halsbury’s Is in in force?’ and the amendment information in ‘Halsbury’s Statutes citator.’

  • This source gives you a quick at-a-glance snapshot of all covered UK Acts, and enables you to locate commencement information and amendments all in one place.
  • Traffic-light symbols are also included to indicate the at-a-glance status of the Acts and their provisions
  • You can access it from the drop-down list in the ‘Sources’ box on the Legislation search page.

Remember that you can contact your LexisNexis Student Rep, Louise  O’Toole – e-mail : Louise.OToole95@lawcol.com – if you need any additional help or training on using LexisLibrary

New look Lawtel!

The newly updated interface for the Lawtel database launched a few days ago.  It has a new logo, new navigation and the search screen is now on the homepage of the database.  Like Westlaw, you can now search for cases, legislation or articles as soon as you log in.

For access to specialist content areas including Kemp on Lawtel, Lawtel Personal Injury and Lawtel EU click on the ‘Specialist Areas’ tab.

Is there a guide to using Lawtel?
A new guide to using Lawtel is available here:  Lawtel student guide 09/10
Printed copies of the guide will be available in the Library soon.

Are there any other sources of help?
Lawtel have produced an online demo which allows you to find out more about how to navigate features and where particular content and features are on the new site.  Go to ELITE > My Library > Databases > Lawtel > Help > Online Demos